top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOlivia Swindler

[A very late] August Roundup

It is closer to October than August, but here we are. Here are the books that I read in August!


Happy Reading!





I loved this book. It is a beautiful family saga centered around a family’s restaurant. In some ways, it reminded me of “Marrying the Ketchups”, though this book spans multiple generations. At moments, it was hard to keep track of who was who, but overall if you love a family saga, this book is beautiful!


I enjoyed the content of this book, but I did find it to be too long. I didn’t know much about U2 and loved learning the history of the band. I also loved the way Bono spoke about love and his faith.


Station Eleven – Fiction | 3.5/5

I loved the writing, but the plot was hard for me to get into. I’m not sure if it is better that I read it post-2020 or not, but I found the subject matter to be almost too sad for me. And while I loved the way the story was structured, I had a hard time keeping track of all of the characters.


Kill Show – Thriller | 4.5/5

Set a decade after Sara Parcell's disappearance, this book reads like a true crime podcast. This book was so unique, and I preferred it to other books attempting a similar format. I find true crime and the fandom surrounding it so interesting, and this book takes a really unique look at that world. If you want a non-scary, thought-provoking thriller, I highly recommend this one. Perfect for fans of "The Appeal" or anything true crime-related. I also think it would make a great audiobook.


Thank you to Harper for my copy.


Tell Me Everything – Memoir | 5/5

I knew very little about Kelly before reading this book, and I found this book not only to be really well written but a vulnerable and honest reflection on her life and upbringing. Highly recommend this memoir!


Shark Heart – Fiction/Magical Realism | 4.5/5

This book is honestly unlike any I’ve read. I wasn’t sure what to expect but fell in love with the characters. This book is heartbreaking and beautiful, and the writing is incredible. Also, because the chapters are so short, I flew through them. Possibly my most unique read of the year, but I highly recommend it!


I absolutely loved the premise of this book. The characters are really well-written, and I enjoyed the overall structure. But, the author's note was what made this book really powerful. If you like small-town drama, this is a great read.


Tough – Memoir | 5/5

I love Terry Crews.


Tell Me What I Am – Thriller | 4.5/5

I absolutely devoted this slower-paced literary thriller. It took me about 50 pages to get into the pacing and style of the book, but once I got it, I was hooked. If you liked “These Silent Woods,” I think you would love this one.


Thank you to Harper for my copy.


Under the Influence – Fiction | 3.5/5

I had been waiting for this book since I heard about it after a certain influencer got called out a few years ago. I thought it was a great look at influencer culture, and perfect if you want a dark office saga. Great for fans of The Devil Wears Prada (or, women who are tired of being told to wash their face…). I wish that the writing had been a little tighter, but a great summer read!


Family Lore – Fiction | 3/5

This is a beautiful family saga. I absolutely loved the narration, but because I listened to it, I did have a hard time keeping track of all of the characters and think this would have been easier on the page.


Thank you to libro.fm for my ALC.


None of This Is True – Thriller | 4.5/5

This book is an unputdownable wild ride. It took me a while to get into the format of the story, but I really liked the way it was structured. If you’re looking for a great psychological thriller, this is a good one!



(ALSO, a very shameless plug that you can pre-order my upcoming novel, Break the Glass!!!)






Comments


bottom of page